• Angelita Bradney, writer

    Hello

    Angelita Bradney, writer

    About Angelita

    Angelita Bradney is a prize-winning fiction writer living in south-east London. Her work has been published in literary magazines, three anthologies and performed on stage.

     

    You can read many of her short stories below, including All that water must be unimaginably heavy, which won the 2017 National Memory Day short story competition. You can also find details of her unpublished novel, Another Truth.

    “Angelita’s writing is clear, cold, seemingly dispassionate, taking us to the heart of trauma and its effects on memory, leaving the reader with the spaces to wonder what we and history may also choose to forget. This is superb writing: both imaginatively rich and confidently spare in crafting.”  Cathy Galvin, Director of The Word Factory, Co-Founder of The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Prize, and judge of the 2017 National Memory Day short story competition.

  • Novel: Another Truth

    Two estranged brothers, forced back together when their mother falls ill, must face the secret in the family's past as their messy lives become inextricably tangled.

    Angelita Bradney's novel, Saint Michael

    Overview

    Another Truth is an entertaining dissection of contemporary family life, set in working-class Essex.

     

    Four years ago, builder Mike Maitland fled his home town after a revelation upended everything he thought he knew about his childhood. Now Mike has returned, but his discovery remains an unhealed wound at the heart of the family. Mike’s repressed older brother, John, is facing a crisis of his own. Having clawed his way up the professional ladder to a senior position in the UK government, he is caught between his principles and his career when he discovers a case of corruption that goes all the way to Downing Street. Immersed in their own battles, no-one notices the disastrous relationship that John’s teenage daughter, Charlotte, is pursuing with her violin teacher. When Charlotte goes missing, each member of the family must decide what to fight for, even if that means facing their weaknesses and deepest fears.

     

    Another Truth would appeal to fans of Maggie O’Farrell, Liane Moriarty and Sally Rooney.

     

    Photo by Seb Cumberbirch.

    More information

    Angelita started writing Another Truth while studying for a certificate in novel writing at London's City University, and completed it on the Faber Academy 'Writing a Novel' course in 2018. As a work-in-progress, her novel was longlisted in the 2018 Flash500 novel opening competition and longlisted with honorable mention in the 2018 Retreat West first chapter competition.

  • Short stories and flash fiction

    Angelita's short stories and flash fiction have been published in various literary magazines and anthologies. A couple of her favourites are Gap (published by Ellipsis Zine) and Is there magic here (published by The Fiction Pool).

     

    Angelita's work has also been shortlisted and highly commended in many competitions including the Fish prize, Inktears, Retreat West, Writers' Forum magazine and Shooter Literary Magazine. She won the 2017 National Memory Day short story competition with All that water must be unimaginably heavy.

    Angelita Bradney's story, 'Book, Kitchen, Shelf'

    Short story published by the Cabinet of Heed, December 2018

    An old recipe book forces someone to re-evaluate a painful childhood.

    Angelita Bradney's story, Illumination

    Short story published in Riggwelter, September 2018

    A stand-in fortune teller called Nigel has an unexpected visitor.

    Angelita Bradney's story, Empty nest

    Flash fiction, published by FlashFlood, June 2018

    "I open the box in the attic..."

    Angelita Bradney's story, A peachy moment

    Micro fiction, published by Dear Damsels, June 2018

    A snapshot of a childhood memory

    Angelita Bradney's story, Is there magic here?

    Flash fiction, published by The Fiction Pool, June 2018 and republished by FlashFlood, June 2019

    "I take Sindy and Barbie to the woods..."

    Angelita Bradney's story is in this collection, Nothing Is As It Was

    Come and Gone

    Flash fiction published April 2018 in Nothing is As It Was, an anthology of short stories about climate change.

    A seaside town, before and after. This story was selected by Retreat West for this anthology. All profits from the book go to the Earth Day Network.

     

    Available from Amazon.

    Angelita Bradney's story, Other Chances

    Flash fiction published by The Occulum, October 2017

    Starlight, dust and mutant foxes.

    Angelita Bradney's story is in this collection, Stories for Homes 2

    Golden Eyes

    Published by Stories for Homes 2, October 2017

    This story was selected for Stories for Homes 2, a wonderful anthology of fiction on the theme of 'home'. All profits from the book go to the charity Shelter.

     

    Available from Amazon.

    Angelita Bradney's story, Gap

    Creative non-fiction published by Ellipsis Zine, October 2017

    "When I was young my mother told me I had family on the other side of the world."

    Angelita Bradney's story is in this collection, What Was Left

    Lobsterfest

    Published by Retreat West, September 2017

    This tale of lobsters and revenge was shortlisted in Retreat West's 2016 short story competition and published in this anthology.

     

    Available from Amazon and on YouTube.

    Angelita Bradney's story, Tinder

    Flash fiction published by FlashFlood, June 2017

    "He didn't sign up for this when he swiped right."

    Angelita Bradney's story, All that water must be unimaginably heavy

    All that water must be unimaginably heavy

    The judge, Cathy Galvin, Director of The Word Factory and Co-Founder of The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Prize, commented:

    “Angelita’s writing is clear, cold, seemingly dispassionate, taking us to the heart of trauma and its effects on memory, leaving the reader with the spaces to wonder what we and history may also choose to forget. This is superb writing: both imaginatively rich and confidently spare in crafting.”

     

    You can read the story, along with the winners from the other categories, here.

    Angelita Bradney's story, She

    Published by Litro, February 2016

    A schoolgirl horror story.

    Angelita Bradney's story, The Tower

    A misdemeanour committed in a seaside town has lifelong consequences.

     

    Photo credits: Jessica Castro (Book, Kitchen, Shelf), Tom Quandt (Illumination), Wendy Aros Routman (Empty nest), Charles Deluvio (A peachy moment), Christiane Teston (Is there magic here?), Jeremy Vessey (Other Chances), Jordan Opel (Gap), Amy Humphries (Tinder), Tomas Robertson (All that water), Josh Withers (The Tower).

  • Contact Angelita

    As well as using the form below, you can follow her on Twitter at @AngelBradn.